Currently listening to…

I guess this is my equivalent of a radio show, where I introduce what I’ve been listening to recently and you can go away and listen to it. Or not. It’s up to you.

1. Bubblehouse Bounce (move as one) by Ruti

Ruti has an incredible voice that takes you smoothly from the highest peaks to the devastating depths of their songs. This one is fun and easy to move to, with a catchy chorus and stunning riffs throughout. More recently, they’ve released their new single, Lungs, which is far more emotional in content and style. So far, I’ve liked everything I’ve heard from Ruti and both this and the new single are it into that too.

2. Pillow in My Arms by Griff

I wouldn’t place Griff a million miles off from Ruti in terms of genre and vibe, particularly with songs like this. Pillow in My Arms is romantic and soothing, whilst also having an incredible looping bridge that’s great for sad dancing. Seeing Griff perform this live, you see just how much she enjoys creating and sharing her music with others, dancing along to all of it.

3. Edge of the Earth by The Beaches

I feel pretty strong in my conviction that if you enjoyed the 2010’s indie music, you’ll enjoy this. With that same soft rock-y instrumentation and slightly less upbeat lyrics, it wouldn’t go amiss amongst the likes of Imagine Dragons, American Authors, or One Republic. Maybe it’s the nostalgic appeal that draws me in, maybe it’s just the boppy nature of it.

4. Happy World by Debbii Dawson

You can’t tell me that ABBA hasn’t been an influence on Debbii Dawson. If you look out for it, there are similar chord progressions, vocal inflects, harmonies, stylistic choices and beats to a variety of ABBA classics. Again, I seem to have gone for a happy-sounding song with less-than-happy lyrics. Add it to the sad bop soundtrack.

5. Quartet by Leah Broad

Throwing a curveball by adding in an Audiobook, but the rules are mine and I can change them as I please. Quartet biographically follows four influential and era-defining women in classical music. Why there aren’t TV shows and films in abundance about Ethel Smyth, I don’t know, because her life has all the twists and turns you could ask of a woman born in the 1850s. That’s to say nothing of the others, who each fought sexism, expectations, controlling fathers, disapproving critics, changing styles and formats of music appreciation and far more to compose astounding works and get them heard by the masses.

If you want to find free audiobooks, I recommend using BorrowBox. You can also buy Quartet here.

Published by rebekahthebacon

Blogger of many things, plant mum and earring enthusiast.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started